Tom Petty on new album ‘Mudcrutch 2’: ‘This one’s more of a proper record.’

All five members of Mudcrutch — Tom Petty (bass), Mike Campbell (guitar), Benmont Tench (keyboards), Tom Leadon (guitar) and Randall Marsh (drums) — joined SiriusXM for a special featuring all 11 tracks from their new album, Mudcrutch 2.  For which, in addition to the songs Tom Petty wrote, each member of the band contributed their own song along with singing lead vocals.  The show is hosted by Mark Felsot of Tom Petty Radio and producer of the long running Tom Petty’s Buried Treasure Show on SiriusXM – now in its 10th season.

In his interview with Felsot, Petty spoke about how this album compares to his last one. “This one’s more of a proper record but it’s a lot of fun, too,” he said.

And he even teased more music … sort of. “I didn’t have a lot of songs but as the album went on I came up with more songs. So we recorded 19 or 20 and pretty much finished them. And then at the end of the day we picked the 11 that made the nicest album,” he said. “So we really did a lot more than one album’s worth of stuff but I’m sure that still will appear down the road.”

The Mudcrutch 2 Album Premiere will debut on Wednesday 5/11 at 3 pm ET with encore presentations on 5/11 at 9 pm ET; Thursday 5/12 at 11 am and 7 pm ET; Friday 5/13 at 2 am, 11 am, 6 pm and midnight ET; Saturday 5/14 at 9 am, 1 pm and 8 pm ET; Sunday 5/15 at 3 am, 10 am and 3 pm ET; Monday 5/16 at 1 am, 8 am, 4 pm and 11 pm ET; Tuesday 5/17 at 10 am and 8 pm ET; Wednesday 5/18 at 9 pm ET; Thursday 5/19 at 11 am ET and Friday 5/20 at 6 pm ET, the day the album is officially released.

For a free 30-day trial, check out


Powered by WordPress VIP