The 2019 Rock & Roll Hall of Fame voting begins

VOLUME (Ch. 106) was once again the home for a major announcement from Rock & Roll Hall of Fame, this time unveiling the 2019 nominees on Feedback! Hosts Nik Carter and Lori Majewski were joined live by Greg Harris, president and CEO of the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame and Museum, to reveal the nominees. Throughout the day, artists including Joe Elliott of Def Leppard, Rod Argent of The Zombies, The Cure keyboardist Roger O’Donnell, Wayne Kramer of The MC5 called into VOLUME’s daily live shows to react to their nomination.

The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame will again offer fans the opportunity to officially participate in the induction selection process. Beginning October 9 and continuing through 11:59 p.m. ET on December 9, fans can visit to cast votes for who they believe to be most deserving of induction into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame. The top five artists, as selected by the public, will comprise a “fans’ ballot” that will be tallied along with the other ballots to choose the 2019 inductees. Fans will need to login to vote. Voting is capped at one ballot per day.


HBO will also once again broadcast the ceremony in 2019 and SiriusXM will also carry a radio simulcast, along with specials leading up to the ceremony devoted to the Rock Hall’s inductees—past and present—on Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Radio (Ch. 310), which is also available on SiriusXM Spotlight, channel 4, until Monday, Oct. 15.

The nominees for induction into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame in 2019 are:

  • Def Leppard
  • Devo
  • Janet Jackson
  • John Prine
  • Kraftwerk
  • MC5
  • Radiohead
  • Rage Against the Machine
  • Roxy Music
  • Stevie Nicks
  • The Cure
  • Todd Rundgren
  • Rufus featuring Chaka Khan
  • The Zombies

To be eligible for nomination, an individual artist or band must have released its first commercial recording at least 25 years prior to the year of nomination. Six out of 15 of the Nominees are on the ballot for the first time, including: Def Leppard, Devo, John Prine, Roxy Music, Stevie Nicks, and Todd Rundgren.

Inductees will be announced in December 2018. The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame 2019 Induction Ceremony, presented by Klipsch Audio, will be held at Barclays Center in Brooklyn, New York on March 29, 2019. Ticket on-sale information will be announced in January.

Ballots will be sent to an international voting body of more than 1,000 artists, historians, and members of the music industry. Factors such as an artist’s musical influence on other artists, length and depth of career and body of work, innovation and superiority in style and technique are taken into consideration.

Fans can visit the museum in Cleveland to cast their vote in person using the Voice Your Choice interactives adjacent to the 2018 Inductee exhibit in the new Hall of Fame Gallery, presented by KeyBank.

Follow the Rock Hall on Facebook and Twitter.

Powered by WordPress VIP