The conference formerly known as the Big East officially launched Monday as the new-look American Athletic Conference. Conference commissioner Mike Aresco joined The Tim Brando Show on SiriusXM College Sports Nation to discuss the historic day.

“It’s an exciting day, but we’ve got a lot of work to do, a lot of work ahead of us,” Aresco said. “We’re proud of what we’ve accomplished in a very short period of time when a lot of people probably thought we had no prospects back in December, in January.”

Over the last decade, the Big East lost many of its larger programs to other conferences. Starting with Miami and Virginia Tech in 2004, and culminating in the exits of Notre Dame (a non-football member), Pittsburgh and Syracuse in 2013, and Louisville and Rutgers in 2014, several of the conference’s remaining core schools ultimately decided to form a new conference.

Borne out of that decision was the AAC, which will include several former Big East members (Cincinnati, Connecticut and South Florida, with Rutgers and Louisville only remaining in the conference for 2013), and a wide range of schools from other conferences (Houston, Memphis, SMU, Temple and UCF in 2013, East Carolina, Tulane and Tulsa in 2014, and Navy in 2015).

You can hear more of Aresco’s thoughts on the new conference below, and listen to The Tim Brando Show weekdays at 9 am ET on SiriusXM channel 91.

Powered by VIP